What are your Key Life Events?

Key life stages and events

(Benjamin J. Sadock, 2007)

0-13 Dependency Needs Trust
  • Thinking
  • Feeling
  • Imagining
  • Competence
  • Skills
  • Decision
  • Willing
  • Doing
  • Being
  • Purpose
13-26 Counter-dependency Needs Identity
  • New Identity
  • New Competence
  • New Skills
  • New Purpose
  • New Choices
  • New Trust
26-39 Independence Needs Love (intimacy)
Work (Mastery)
  • New Identity
  • New Competence
  • New Skills
  • New Purpose
  • New Choices
  • New Trust
39-52 Inter-dependence Needs Caring for Life
Evolutionary Vocation
  • New Identity
  • New Competence
  • New Skills
  • New Purpose
  • New Choices
  • New Trust

Alternatively, ….

“There are 5 new ages of man Laga, Aga, Viagra, Viagra, Gaga”

Virginia Ironside, author

8 Stages of Development

Developed by Dr Erik Erikson

  1. Trust VS. Mistrust – Infants learn about basic trustworthiness of the environment. If they receive attention and affection -> they form a global impression of a trustworthy and secure world. If they receive pain and stress -> they believe life is unpredictable and untrustworthy.
  2. Autonomy VS. Shame and Doubt – Toddlers discover their own bodies and how to control them. If they succeed in doing things for themselves -> gain a sense of self-confidence and self-control. If they fail continuously -> feel shame and self-doubt.
  3. Initiative VS. Guilt – Children at age 4 or 5 explore beyond themselves. If exploration, projects and activities are effective -> learn to deal with people and things in constructive way and have strong sense of initiative. If they criticized or punished -> learn to feel guilty for many of their own actions.
  4. Industry VS. Inferiority – Children at ages 6 to 11 develop numerous skills. One’s sense of self is enriched by realistic development. A negative evolution is damaging at this time.
  5. Ego Identity VS. Ego Diffusion – Before adolescence, children learn a number of different roles. It is important to sort out and integrate these various roles into one constant identity. If a child fails to do this, the result is what Erikson calls ego diffusion.
  6. Intimacy VS. Isolation – In late adolescence and young adulthood, the central conflict is that of intimacy and isolation. This is the ability to share one’s self with another person of either sex without fear of losing one’s own identity.
  7. Generativity VS. Self-absorption – In adulthood, men and women are free to direct their attention more fully to the assistance of others. Individuals can direct energy without conflict to the solution of social issues. Failure to resolve earlier conflicts -> results in preoccupation with one’s self.

If you have a trauma or don’t move beyond any one of these stages, then this is called arrested development.

What were your Key life events?

Stage in Life Positive Experiences Negative Experiences Score
First 10 Years

You can find example office template for timelines here:



  • Consider where you are on this path. What does that mean your future decades?
  • Which events were significant emotional events? (Positive or Negative)